How to Find an Illustrator

Children’s Books, Illustration

page_6_image

Page 6, Jason and the Crawdad King – Lili Avakem

So, you have a creative project that you want to bring to life.  There’s no better way than adding quality illustrations.  In my quest to find a brilliant illustrator, here’s a few tidbits I’ve learned along the way.

Decide on Your Audience and Budget

The first decisions to make are: 1) who your project is intended for and 2) how much you want to spend.

If it’s a children’s book, you might ask yourself questions like this:

What age ranges are you looking at?  Toddlers, pre-school, first and second graders?  Is it just  for you and your family?  Do you have a way to get it into local schools and places where kids congregate?  Or do you want to get in with a world-wide publishing company?

If it’s just for you, maybe a friend, relative, or friend-of-a-friend will do it for the joy of making art (i.e. you don’t have to pay).  If you want to create illustrations for success and sales, then get your check book out.  I’ve talked to top-notch illustrators who charge $1,500 per illustration!

Call for Student Illustrators

When I first started, I thought a reasonable, cost-effective route to go was to put out an announcement to illustration students at universities and art schools.  Although, I had plenty of responses, none really could capture what I was looking for.  I learned that students are…well…students.

Web-based Freelance Sites

Then I stumbled on to a couple of freelance websites for illustrators, namely freelancer.com and 99designs.  Bingo!  Both sites offer contests, where you submit text and interested illustrators submit samples, within a given time period.  However, in order to get submissions with any level of quality, plan on putting up at least $150.

The process is exciting and a lot of fun.  Plus, you’ll meet people from around the globe.  That’s how I found my illustrator, Lili, who created the gem at the top of this page.

PS.  You can’t have her.  She’s mine!

*

For questions and info. into my world of books and all things magical, please visit my website at:

Joe headshot colorhttp://www.josephdrumheller.com

About Joseph Drumheller

Joseph Drumheller is an energy healer and award-winning author. As a healer, he’s conducted over 2,000 private healing sessions since 1991 and worked six years in a cancer radiation clinic, honing his craft as a healer. He lives in Sppokane, WA.
This entry was posted in Children's Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to Find an Illustrator

  1. Anonymous says:

    Dear Mr. Drumheller Thank you I am so lucky to work with you.
    I just wanted to say thanks again for letting me be a part of this great journey.

    Best regards
    Lili

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lili says:

    Dear Mr. Drumheller Thank you I am so lucky to work with you.
    I just wanted to say thanks again for letting me be a part of this great journey.

    Best regards
    Lili

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What an incredible artist, AMAZING WORK! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

