5 Tips For Constructing Your Next Best-Selling Book

Children’s Books, Picture Books, Literature

Welcome to my weekly guest blog series for authors, writers and illustrators:

This week I’m featuring an American author of fiction, plays, and chilren’s books, Trisha Sugarek, who just completed her latest novel, Song of the Yukon.

song-cover_rev16july

5 Tips To Construct Your Next Best-Selling Novel

It took me three years to write this saga. (87K words) I didn’t know it at the time, but I was letting it ‘rest’ at certain points and I think it is a better story for it.

Let It Flow

I have learned over the years to let it flow organically; when characters come busting through the door, I welcome them in.  They always tell me their story and it always fits with what I am writing. The indigenous people in Song of the Yukon joined me early on. Black-eyed Joe was sitting in the back of the village store and LaVerne (heroine) and I were both surprised to find him there. Then I went on to meet Joe’s brother, Elk-tail and his mother Edna.

2-violet-laverneLet the Characters Take Over

Without exception, at some point (early, if I’m lucky) my characters take over the story and I become the typist. I interview authors on my blog and so many of them say the same thing, so, with relief, I find I’m not as crazy as I thought I was.

Draw on Experience

The story about my Auntie LaVerne running away to Alaska is a true family tale. So all I had to do was pull from the many stories my mother told me as a child.

Do Your Research

But, living ‘off the grid’ in Alaska in the 1920’s?  This is where the Internet can be a writer’s best tool. Can you believe that we used to have to go to the library and do all this research, pouring through books?  With a couple of clicks I was able to use the Athabascan (native American) language, their folk lore and their customs. I was able to build a dog sled, from scratch with only wood.  I was able to set a fur trapping line. I was able to build a cabin with only hand tools. (think about it) I was able to train puppies to become a dog sled team. I was able to describe, accurately, a funeral potlatch.

guyer_girls_the_Stick To It

My advice to other writers is: write every day. If you get stuck, let the story rest; go write something else.  And never, never give up!

headshot-trisha

Bio:  Trisha Sugarek has enjoyed a twenty year career writing stage plays, fiction, children’s books and poetry. In addition to a half a dozen full length plays, she expanded her body of work to include four children’s books, eight novels, of which five are a series of true crime mysteries. She has written a collection of ten minute plays for the classroom.  Most recently she created four journal/handbooks (instructional) for writers. Her active blog encourages and helps other writers.

Trisha lives in Savannah, Georgia with her golden retriever, Gusto and a ridge-back hound, Miss Molly and their cat, Fiona.

Visit Trisha: www.writeratplay.com

 _______________________________

 Guest blogger host, Joseph Drumheller, is an award-winning author and energy healer.  He creates children’s books for Golden Bell Entertainment.

If you’d like to guest blog or want more info into the worlds, books, meditation, healing, and spirituality, please visit my website at:

www.josephdrumheller.com

Joe headshot color

front_draft_3_small

 

About Joseph Drumheller

Joseph Drumheller is an energy healer and award-winning author. As a healer, he’s conducted over 2,000 private healing sessions since 1991 and worked six years in a cancer radiation clinic, honing his craft as a healer. He lives in Sppokane, WA.
This entry was posted in Children's Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

